Onondaga County DWI
What to expect when charged with DWI in New York
If you are charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) and, like many people, have never had experience with the criminal justice system, you can quickly feel overwhelmed by court dates and impending penalties. At DeRoberts Law Firm, our Onondaga County DWI attorney combines personal attention and fierce legal representation to ensure your rights are protected and your penalties are minimized.
After you are charged with a DWI, you will need to appear before a judge for an arraignment, or first hearing. During the arraignment process, you will be formally charged. The judge will ask you to respond to the charge with a plea of not guilty or guilty. What happens next depends on your plea.
Pleading guilty or not guilty depends on a number of factors. Don’t face your arraignment alone and leave your future to chance. Trust our experienced Onondaga County DWI defense attorney to stand by your side. We formulate the best strategy for your individual case and guide you every step of the way. If you decide to plead guilty, our skilled Onondaga County DWI attorney works to get you the best deal possible. If you plead not guilty, count on us for a formidable defense strategy, protecting your rights and your future.
Leandra’s Law and how it affects your New York DWI case
Leandra’s Law, a law named after a child who was killed when she rode in a car with an intoxicated driver, was enacted in New York in 2009. This law increased penalties for DWI convictions and added the following provisions to the existing DWI laws:
- Aggravated DWI/child in vehicle ? A new felony. You can be charged with aggravated DWI if you are pulled over for suspicion of driving while intoxicated and you have a child 15 years or younger in the car with you.
- Ignition Interlock requirement ? If you are convicted of DWI or aggravated DWI, the court must require you to install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle you own, at your own cost.
The penalties for DWI in New York are some of the harshest in the country. In addition, the state does not allow criminal conviction records to be expunged. Your DWI conviction can have lasting effects on your life, including your ability to find a job.
If you have been charged with a DWI, you need a strong Onondaga County DWI attorney to represent you. Criminal defense attorney Jeffrey DeRoberts has successfully fought DWI charges for clients in Onondaga County and throughout New York since 1993.
How does a DWI affect my commercial driver’s license?
People who hold a commercial drivers license are held to stricter blood alcohol content (BAC) standards and the DWI penalties are considerably harsher. If you are convicted for one DWI, DWAI, or are found to have a BAC at or above 0.04 while driving a commercial vehicle, the minimum license revocation is one year. A second or third conviction results in permanent revocation of your commercial license.
If you have been charged with a DWI while driving your commercial vehicle, you need quick and skillful representation to protect your livelihood. At DeRoberts Law Firm, our experienced Onondaga County drunk driving attorney has the tenacity and dedication to aggressively fight your DWI charges. When your commercial driver?s license hangs in the balance, attorney DeRoberts is your best ally.
Aggressive Onondaga County DWI defense for more than 20 years
If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated, call our office for a free consultation today. Call 315-479-6445, or send an e-mail to discuss your case. We offer one-on-one personal attention and innovative criminal defense strategies. Defending your rights and protecting your future is our goal.