DWI and Your License
Syracuse DWI Lawyer
Charges of DWI or DWAI require suspension of your driver’s license while your criminal case is pending. Depending on the offense, you stand to lose your driving privileges for 90 days, six months or more than a year if convicted.
Call DeRoberts Law Firm as soon as possible after your arrest to get started on your defense and begin the fight to keep your license! You will get the personal attention, experience and dedication of attorney Jeffrey DeRoberts throughout the duration of your case.
- Your New York driver’s license is surrendered at arraignment (first court appearance). In this same proceeding, we will ask the court to enact a hardship clause to allow you to drive to work, school and other important matters.
- If you agree to enter the New York DMV’s Drinking Driver Program (DDP), you may qualify for a conditional driver’s license. This allows you restricted privileges to drive to work, school or necessary medical appointments.
- Upon completion of DDP (which consists of an alcohol dependency assessment and drunk driving education classes), the Department of Motor Vehicles will reinstate your full license privileges.
NOTE: You may not be eligible for a conditional license or early reinstatement if
- you refused a DWI chemical test
- you are charged with a felony DWI/repeat offense, or
- you attended DDP within the past five years for a previous DWI or DWAI. Even under those circumstances, we can sometimes convince the court to make allowances or reduce the period of suspension.
Contact us as soon as possible after your arrest to protect your rights. DWI defense lawyer Jeffrey DeRoberts has practiced law for 16 years. He serves Syracuse, Onondaga County and surrounding counties of Central New York.
Minimum License Suspension/Revocation Upon Conviction of Drinking and Driving Charges
- Driving While Intoxicated (DWI): 6 months
- Repeat DWI (within 10 years): 12 months
- Aggravated DWI (.18 BAC or higher): 12 months
- Repeat A-DWI: 18 months
- Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI): 90 days
- Repeat DWAI (within 5 years): 6 months
- DWAI-Drugs: 6 months
- Repeat offense (within 5 years): 12 months
- Zero Tolerance/Under Age 21 (.02-.07 BAC): 6 months
- Second Offense: 1 year or until age 21, whichever is longer!
- Chemical Test Refusal: 12 months (no restricted license)
- Second refusal (within 5 years): 18 months
Free Consultation – Contact Us 24/7
As you can see, failing to respond promptly or failing to fight your drunk driving charges can result in lengthy license suspension.
Aggressive Criminal Defense Since 1993
If you are looking for a Syracuse criminal defense attorney to protect your rights, look no further.
Call 315-479-6445, or send an e-mail for a free initial consultation.